My Story’s Appeal

Writing a book about Troy is like writing one about the Alamo -the reader knows how the story ends.  I wrote my novel with the expectation that readers had a familiarity with the stories about Troy and even knew of Polyxena’s fate.  So why did I bother?  Isn’t that a let-down for the reader?  My answer to that is: it doesn’t matter knowing what happens to her -that’s not the story’s appeal.  I strove for something more meaningful and enduring.

By making the reader synonymous with Aphrodite, the goddess in whom Polyxena confides her thoughts, I wanted to create an emotional bond between the two. My aim was, therefore, to endear the reader to her -even falling in love with her- and in this sentimental attachment feeling her hopes and fears, her joys and sorrows, wanting things to be different for her, and admiring her courageous struggle to overcome her fear of death.  It is this interaction with Aphrodite that most appeals to the reader.  That’s why my story had to be written in the first person; I would have failed in achieving this connection if she had not related it from her own perspective, as she lived it -a story deeply personal, touching us.  Anyway, that was my objective.

 Have I succeeded?  From some of the feedback I’ve gotten -I would say yes.  But it’s up the reader to best judge that.  My hope is that, after having read this novel, readers will be able to say of Polyxena:  I know her because I was, after all, the deity in whom she related her deepest feelings.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

